The Trip to Camp Hanes

   It was just last Thursday when I stepped on the bus that was going to take me and the rest of 6th grade to the long awaited Camp Hanes. I took my seat next to Layla and stared out the window. We had chosen a seat behind one of the many TV screens on the bus. As we began to slowly move, Layla and I waved goodbye to DA. I stared out the window watching cars pass and counting all the yellow signs. Almost all of the trees had turned red, orange or yellow, sometimes even golden brown. The leaves looked so beautiful even though they really were dead. Mr. Harris put on a movie and Layla and I watched the TV for the rest of the ride. 

    About two hours later we felt the bus stop. I looked out the window, and we had arrived! We hopped out of the bus and everyone rushed to get their bags to bring into the gym. We were then led into a gray room nearby and we sat and listened to the camp instructors introduce themselves and tell us about Camp Hanes. It was all very exciting! All the girls from the Harris advisory and the Richardson girls were put in one cabin. It was very similar to Chestnut Ridge, an overnight school trip I went on at my old school. We unpacked and then we were put into groups. I was in group five and recognized a few faces. 

   We did so many activities like canoeing, hiking and archery. My favorite was the hike. It was so beautiful at the top, looking down at everything. I could hear the birds chirping and the sound of the wind shaking the branches on the trees. It was exhilarating climbing up the rocky hill leading up to the top. I also loved canoeing. It was so peaceful on the water, I could hear the swish of the paddle as it glided next to my canoe. I had a great time, and it was overall a wonderful experience. Thank you so much Camp Hanes! 

2 thoughts on “The Trip to Camp Hanes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *